West African nations in security meet

ECOWAS nations discuss piracy and maritime security.

Benin, Nigeria, Niger, Togo Meet to Protect Gulf of Guinea

Bassey Inyang in Calabar

Four countries comprising the ECOWAS Maritime Pilot Zone E; Republic of Benin, Nigeria, Niger, and Togo met in Calabar, Cross River State, yesterday to formally agree on the final operational plan and resource commitment towards securing the Gulf of Guinea from activities of criminals.

The inaugural meeting which was attended by Chiefs of the Naval Staff/Heads of Gendarmerie from the four countries, are expected to approve the plan drawn by experts in maritime security towards tackling oil theft, piracy and others criminal activities in the Gulf of Guinea.

Addressing the opening session of the event which held at the Transcorp Metropolitan Hotel in Calabar, ECOWAS Commissioner for Political Affairs, Peace and Security, Mrs. Salamatu Hussaini Suleiman, said: “In West Africa, the maritime domain which accounts for significant economic recourses has in recent years been threatened by illicit activities such as oil bunkering, drug and human trafficking, illicit Unreported Unregulated Fishing (IUU), illegal migration, piracy attack, armed robbery at sea and toxic dumping among others. These criminal activities have resulted in huge losses of revenue in billions of dollars to coastal counties in the region.

To continue reading, please click here.

Source: thisdaylive.com

Previous Article
Next Article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *